GeoNames Home | Postal Codes | Download / Webservice | About |
search

GeoNames Team

Marc Wick, Founder : marc@geonames.org

Christophe Boutreux, developer


Ambassadors

ArgentinaMartin Sarsale , martin@geonames.org, Blog Web Semantica
AustraliaWilliam (Bill) Smith, Charles Elliott
AustriaRoland Oth, roland@geonames.org
Bangladesh Dr. Md. Shahedur Rashid
Professor, Department of Geography and Environment
Jahangirnagar University, Savar, Dhaka-1342.
BANGLADESH
email: m.s.rashid.ju@gmail.com
Belgium Gerjan Grootenboer, gerjan@geonames.org
Bolivia Carlos Medrano, cmedrano26@yahoo.es, La Paz - Bolivia
Bosnia and HerzegovinaFuad Curcic
Brazil Edmar Moretti
Bulgaria Roman Rachkov, roman@geonames.org
Canada Aaron Lambie, President / CEO of SpatialQ Inc, aaron.lambie@spatialq.com
Catalan Linguistic Area: Andorra, Northern Catalonia (France), Catalonia, Balearic Islands, Valencian Comunity (Spain) Marc Belzunces, Barcelona (blog)
Chile Pablo Morales
China Rong Shen
Colombia Ariel Núñez, Luis Molina
Czech Republic Marek Prokop, marek@geonames.org
CubaElier Delgado Alvarez, elier@geonames.org
Dominica and eastern Caribbean Steve McCabe
Ethiopia Alemayehu Negash
Estonia Peeter Päll
The Basque Country (Spain, France) Luistxo Fernandez, Tagzania
Finland Henri Bergius, henri@geonames.org
France Christophe Boutreux, christophe@geonames.org,
Christophe works as a freelance IT consultant in Paris.
Galicia, Spain Antonio Fraga, SIGNO S.L
GermanyLukas Eipert
Ghana Emmanuel Okyere
Gipuzkoa, Spain Luistxo Fernandez, Tagzania
Greece Petros Vassiliou
Greenland Asiaq Greenland Survey, Henrik Forsberg
Hungary Lilla Lukás, Antal Guszlev
Hungarian Toponymic Portal, geo.organic.hu
India Sasi Raj, An E-commerce consultant working as an editor for a leading technology company at Chennai.
and Aashish Chaudhary.
Indonesia L.T.Hardanto
Ireland Barry Hunter, geonames@barryhunter.co.uk
IsraelYuval Kogman, yuval@geonames.org, JAPH
Italy Giuseppe Bottasini, g.bottasini@tiscali.it
Founder Flags of the World
Blog
Jamaica Dottson Bando
Japan Carsten Schwesig, carsten@geonames.org
Jordan Hussein Al-Olimat
Kenia Paul Mungai
Korea, South Sangchul Ahn, sangchul@geonames.org
Letsee Inc.
Luxembourg Sven Clement
Macedonia Aleksandar Velkovski
Malawi Georg Kloeble, Wildlife Action Group
Malaysia Mohd Shahir Shamsir, shahir@geonames.org,
Bioinformatics Research Group (BIRG) Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Maldives Ameer Dawood
Mexico Eduardo Alessio
Morocco Karim Chraibi
Netherlands Bas de Lange
Nigeria Uche Ogbuji, Partner at Zepheira, lead on the Akara project. Born in Nigeria, presently living in Superior, Colorado, Uche Ogbuji works on many open source projects regarding open data, Web architecture and semantic technology. He also writes prolifically on these topics.
Norway Erik Bolstad, erik@geonames.org
Erik Bolstad is the editor of yr.no, an online weather site from the Norwegian Broadcasting Corp. and the Norwegian Meteorological Institute. Erik is a journalist and web interaction specialist, with a keen interest in geography and languages.
NepalManish Modi, Janaki Technology Pvt. Ltd.
New ZealandRichard Hancock
Pakistan Imran Anwar, writer, TV personality, entrepreneur. He brought Email and the Web to Pakistan, and now GeoNames.
PhilippinesMark Ibanez,Proprietor of M1 Software Solutions www.m1-software.net
PolandFilip Stopinski
PortugalDaniel Barradas
RomaniaRazvan Alexa, razvan@geonames.org
RussiaAndrew Panin
SlovakiaMartin Vojčík
SloveniaSimon Novak
SomaliaAbdi Ahmed
South AfricaChristo Du Preez, christo@geonames.org and Paul Scott paul@geonames.org
Spain F. Javier López-Pellicer (fjlopez@unizar.es)
IAAA Laboratory, Centro Politécnico Superior, University of Zaragoza (Zaragoza, Spain)
Switzerland Marc Wick, marc@geonames.org
TaiwanDongpo Deng
TurkeyDinçer Kavraal
Ukraine Vladislav Gorodetskiy, vlad@geonames.org
United Kingdom Barry Hunter, geonames@barryhunter.co.uk
United States Carey Gister, Alexander Torrenegra
Uruguay Francisco Ferreiro,franco.ferreiro@gmail.com
UzbekistanSherzod Rakhmonov
YemenAbdulla A. Faris







Is your country missing on the list? Would you like to contribute to GeoNames and become an Ambassador of GeoNames to your country? Please write to marc@geonames.org Your help is welcome.

What does a GeoNames Ambassador do? A GeoNames Ambassador helps us with questions regarding the administrative division of a country. An Ambassador helps us find data sources for a country. Potential sources are the postal services, the statistical office, the national mapping agency, the army, local universities, genealogy groups, and many more.